LSU football

The LSU Tigers football program, otherwise called the Fighting Tigers, represents Louisiana State University in the game of American football. The Tigers contend in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

LSU ranks 16th most in triumphs in NCAA Division I FBS history and cases three National Championships (1958, 2003and 2007), 15 gathering titles, and 27 agreement All-Americans. As of the start of the 2017 NFL season, 51 previous LSU players were on dynamic lists in the NFL, the greater part of any school program.

LSU football
LSU football players in action

The group plays in Tiger Stadium and Ed Orgeron is the head mentor.

Meeting affiliations

LSU has been associated with three meetings.

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association (1893– 1922)

Southern Conference (1923– 1932)

Southeastern Conference (1933– introduce)


National titles

The NCAA’s site expresses that “the NCAA does not direct a national title in Division I-A football and isn’t engaged with the choice procedure.” It proceeds to state that “various surveying associations give a last positioning of Division I-A football groups toward the finish of each season.” LSU authoritatively asserts three national titles (1958, 2003 and 2007); notwithstanding, the school has been perceived as national victors by surveying associations on five extra events: 1908 (National Championship Foundation– a title additionally perceived by the NCAA), 1935 (Williamson System), 1936 (Williamson System, Sagarin Ratings), 1962 (Berryman-QPRS), and 2011 (Anderson and Hester, Congrove Computer Rankings). (The NCAA authoritatively changed the “I-An” assignment to the Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) in 2006.) In the 2007 season, LSU turned into the primary program to win various BCS National Championship Games and the second program to win a national title with different misfortunes.

LSU football
LSU football ground

Year Coach Selector Record Bowl Opponent Result

1958 Paul Dietzel AP, Coaches 11– 0 Sugar Bowl Clemson W 7– 0

2003 Nick Saban BCS, Coaches 13– 1 Sugar Bowl Oklahoma W 21– 14

2007 Les Miles BCS, AP, Coaches 12– 2 BCS National Championship Game Ohio State W 38– 24


The 1958 LSU Tigers football team under head coach Paul Dietzel, traveled to an undefeated season topped by a win over Clemson in the 1959 Sugar Bowl. LSU was named the national champion in both the AP Poll and the Coaches’ Poll prior to their 7-0 Sugar Bowl triumph over Clemson. It was the main perceived national title for LSU in the survey period.


The 2003 LSU Tigers football team was trained by Nick Saban. LSU won the BCS National Championship, the first national championship for LSU since 1958. The Tigers fought for a 11– 1 standard season record and afterward defeated Georgia in the SEC Championship Game. The LSU Tigers went head to head against Oklahoma for the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) national title. LSU beat Oklahoma 21– 14 in the 2004 Sugar Bowl designated as the BCS National Championship Game.


The 2007 LSU Tigers football group, trained by Les Miles, won the Southeastern Conference championship and the national championship with a 12– 2 record. The LSU Tigers went up against the best positioned Ohio State Buckeyes in the 2008 BCS National Championship Game defeating them 38– 24. This win made the LSU Tigers the main group to win two BCS National Championships in its history. On their way to the BCS title, the Tigers won their tenth Southeastern Conference championship by defeating Tennessee in the 2007 SEC Championship Game.

Unclaimed national titles

LSU was chosen national bosses for the 1908, 1935, 1936, 1962, and 2011 seasons by various major selectors, however these titles are not perceived by the school.

National title diversion appearances

Since the BCS system appeared in 1998, LSU has played in the national title diversion three times, ordering a 2– 1 record. Each of the three of the Tigers’ appearances have come in the Superdome in New Orleans.

Year Coach Selector Record Bowl Opponent Result

2003 Nick Saban BCS 13– 1 Sugar Bowl Oklahoma W 21– 14

2007 Les Miles BCS 12– 2 BCS National Championship Game Ohio State W 38– 24

2011 Les Miles BCS 13– 1 BCS National Championship Game Alabama L 0– 21

Meeting titles

LSU has won a sum of 15 meeting titles in three unique gatherings. Since turning into an establishing individual from the Southeastern Conference (SEC) in 1933, LSU has won eleven SEC titles.

Year Conference Coach Overall record Conference record

1896† SIAA Allen Jeardeau 6– 0 4– 0

1902† SIAA W. S. Boreland 6– 1 5– 1

1908 SIAA Edgar R. Wingard 10– 0 3– 0

1932† SoCon Biff Jones 6– 3– 1 4– 0

1935 SEC Bernie Moore 9– 2– 0 5– 0

1936 SEC Bernie Moore 9– 1– 1 6– 0

1958 SEC Paul Dietzel 11– 0 6– 0

1961† SEC Paul Dietzel 10– 1 6– 0

1970 SEC Charles McClendon 9– 3 5– 0

1986 SEC Bill Arnsparger 9– 3 5– 1

1988† SEC Mike Archer 8– 4 6– 1

2001 SEC Nick Saban 10– 3 5– 3

2003 SEC Nick Saban 13– 1 7– 1

2007 SEC Les Miles 12– 2 6– 2

2011 SEC Les Miles 13– 1 8– 0

Division titles

Since the SEC started divisional play in 1992, LSU has won or shared the SEC West title 8 times, and is 4– 1 in the SEC Championship amusement.

Year Division Opponent SEC CG Result

1996† SEC West N/A (lost sudden death round to Alabama)

1997† SEC West N/A (lost sudden death round to Auburn)

2001† SEC West Tennessee W 31– 20

2002† SEC West N/A (lost sudden death round to Arkansas)

2003† SEC West Georgia W 34– 13

2005† SEC West Georgia L 14– 34

2007 SEC West Tennessee W 21– 14

2011 SEC West Georgia W 42– 10