UCLA Football

The UCLA Bruins football program speaks to the University of California, Los Angeles, in college football as individuals from the Pac-12 Conference at the NCAA Division I FBS level. The Bruins have delighted in a few times of accomplishment in their history, having been positioned in the best ten of the AP Poll at minimum once in consistently since the survey started in the 1930s.

Their first significant time of accomplishment came in the 1950s, under head coach Henry Russell Sanders. Sanders drove the Bruins to the Coaches’ Poll national championship in 1954, three gathering titles, and a general record of 66– 19– 1 out of nine years. In the 1990s, amid the residency of Terry Donahue, the Bruins aggregated a 151– 74– 8 record, including 13 bowl recreations and a NCAA record eight straight bowl wins. The program has delivered 28 initially round picks in the NFL Draft, 30 consensus All-Americans, and different real honor victors, including Heisman winner Gary Beban. The UCLA Bruins’ primary opponent is the USC Trojans. Chip Kelly became head mentor in 2018.

UCLA Football
UCLA Football

The Bruins were the Pac-12 Conference South Division champions for a long time consecutively and played Pac-12 Football Championship Games in both 2011 and 2012.



UCLA– USC competition

UCLA’s competition with USC is abnormal in that they are one of a couple of sets of Division I FBS programs that offer a noteworthy city. Both are inside the Los Angeles city limits, around 10 miles (16 km) separated. Until 1982, the two schools additionally had a similar stadium: the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

The crosstown opponents play every year for city gloating rights and the Victory Bell, and (verifiably) frequently for the privilege to go to the Rose Bowl. USC drives the unequaled arrangement (2 Southern Cal triumphs abandoned by the NCAA).

UCLA Football
UCLA Football


California– UCLA football competition

The Bruins additionally appreciate a yearly contention with another in-state gathering adversary, the California Golden Bears. The opponents have confronted each other 88 times, each year beginning in 1933. As of November 28, 2017, UCLA drives the unsurpassed arrangement against Cal, 54– 33– 1.

Accomplishments and honors

Singular honor champs

Heisman Trophy

Gary Beban – 1967

Maxwell Award

Gary Beban – 1967

Davey O’Brien Award

Troy Aikman – 1988

John Mackey Award

Marcedes Lewis – 2005

Lott Trophy

Anthony Barr – 2013

Eric Kendricks – 2014

Butkus Award

Eric Kendricks – 2014

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Cade McNown – 1998

Outland Trophy

Jonathan Ogden – 1995

Kris Farris – 1998

Lou Groza Award

Kai Forbath – 2009

Ka’imi Fairbairn, 2015

Morris Trophy


Jonathan Ogden – 1995

Xavier Su’a-Filo – 2013


Kenyon Coleman – 2001

Dave Ball – 2003

Mentor of the Year:

Tommy Prothro -1965

Dick Vermeil – 1975

Terry Donahue – 1985

Terry Donahue – 1993

Bounce Toledo – 1998

UCLA turned into the primary school to have a best champ in both b-ball and football around the same time with Gary Beban winning the Heisman Trophy and Lew Alcindor(now Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) winning the U.S. B-ball Writers Association player of the year grant in 1968.