Penn State bowl game

The Penn State Nittany Lions group speaks to the Pennsylvania State University in school football. The Nittany Lions contend in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision as an individual from the Big Ten Conference, which they participated in 1993 in the wake of playing as an Independent from their establishing through 1992.

Penn State bowl game
Penn State bowl game

Set up in 1887, the Nittany Lions have accomplished various on-field triumphs, the most outstanding of which incorporate two agreement national titles (1982 and 1986), four Big Ten Conference Championships (in 1994, 2005, 2008, and 2016), and 48 appearances in school bowl diversions, with a postseason bowl record of 29– 17– 2. The group is additionally #8 untouched in all out successes, one diversion behind Oklahoma and Alabama.

The Nittany Lions play their home amusements at Beaver Stadium, situated on-grounds in University Park, Pennsylvania. With an official seating limit of 106,572, Beaver Stadium is the second-biggest arena in the western side of the equator, behind just Michigan Stadium in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The group is at present instructed by James Franklin.

Penn State bowl game
Penn State bowl game

Different honors

Lambert Trophy – 1947, 1961, 1962, 1964, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2013, 2016, 2017

Corridor of Fame

Ace Football Hall of Fame

See likewise: Pro Football Hall of Fame

Penn State is one of 11 schools with at least five inductees in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Name Position NFL team(s) Inducted

Jack Ham Linebacker Pittsburgh Steelers 1988

Franco Harris Running back Pittsburgh Steelers, Seattle Seahawks 1990

Mike Michalske Guard Green Bay Packers 1964

Penn State bowl game
Penn State bowl game

Lenny Moore Flanker/running back Baltimore Colts 1975

Mike Munchak Guard Houston Oilers 2001

Dave Robinson Linebacker Green Bay Packers 2013

School Football Hall of Fame

School Football Hall of Fame

Counting previous head mentor Joe Paterno, 24 Nittany Lion players and mentors have been chosen for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Name Position Inducted

Hugo Bezdek Coach 1954

John Cappelletti Halfback 1993

Kerry Collins Quarterback 2018

Shane Conlan Linebacker 2014

Keith Dorney Offensive tackle 2005

Tear Engle Coach 1973

Jack Ham Linebacker 1990

Dick Harlow Coach 1954

Weave Higgins Coach 1954

Glenn Killinger Quarterback 1971

Ted Kwalick Tight end 1989

Richie Lucas Quarterback 1986

Pete Mauthe Fullback 1957

Shorty Miller Quarterback 1974

Lydell Mitchell Running back 2004

Dennis Onkotz Linebacker 1995

Joe Paterno Coach 2007

Mike Reid Defensive tackle 1987

Glenn Ressler Center/guard 2001

Dave Robinson End 1997

Steve Suhey Guard 1985

Dexter Very End 1976

Terse Warner Halfback 2009

Harry Wilson Halfback 1973

Future non-gathering rivals

Reported calendars as of August 30, 2018

2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027

versus Idaho vs Nevada vs Ball State at Auburn vs West Virginia at West Virginia vs Virginia Tech at Temple vs Delaware

versus Buffalo at Virginia Tech vs Auburn vs Central Michigan vs Delaware vs Bowling Green vs Villanova vs Temple

versus Pittsburgh vs San José State vs Villanova

Philanthropy and mindfulness endeavors

Penn State bowl game
Penn State bowl game

The Penn State football group has worked in a joint effort with Uplifting Athletes, a non-benefit association, to bring issues to light and assets for the Kidney Cancer Association. In 2003 the group transformed their yearly weight-lifting rivalry into a store raiser when a player’s dad was determined to have Kidney Cancer. The occasion that is currently known as Lift forever, has raised more than $225,000 since its beginning.