The Los Angeles Lakers are an American professional basketball team based in Los Angeles. The Lakers contend in the National Basketball Association (NBA), as an individual from the league’s Western Conference in the Pacific Division. The Lakers play their home recreations at Staples Center, a field imparted to the NBA’s Los Angeles Clippers, the Los Angeles Sparks of the Women’s National Basketball Association, and the Los Angeles Kings of the National Hockey League. The Lakers are a standout amongst the best groups ever of NBA, and have won 16 NBA titles, the second-most behind the Boston Celtics.

The establishment started with the 1947 buy of a disbanded group, the Detroit Gems of the National Basketball League (NBL). The new group started playing in Minneapolis, calling themselves the Minneapolis Lakers.Initially an individual from the NBL, the Lakers won the 1948 NBL title before joining the rival Basketball Association of America, where they would win five of the following six titles, driven by star George Mikan.After battling fiscally in the late 1950s after Mikan’s retirement, they relocated to Los Angeles before the 1960– 61 season.


Driven by Hall of Famers Elgin Baylor and Jerry West, Los Angeles made the NBA Finals six times in the 1960s, however lost every arrangement to the Celtics, starting their long and storied competition. In 1968, the Lakers gained four-time NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) Wilt Chamberlain, and won their 6th NBA title—and first in Los Angeles—in 1972, driven by new head coach Bill Sharman. After the retirement of West and Chamberlain, the group acquired Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who additionally won various MVP grants, however was not able make the Finals in the late 1970s.

The 1980s Lakers were nicknamed “Showtime” because of their quick break-offense drove by Magic Johnson. The group would won five titles in a 9-year length, and contained Hall of Famers Johnson, Abdul-Jabbar, and James Worthy, and was driven by Hall of Fame coach Pat Riley. After Abdul-Jabbar and Johnson resigned, the group battled in the mid 1990s, preceding acquiring Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant in 1996. With the pair, who were driven by another Hall of Fame mentor in Phil Jackson, the group won three continuous titles between 2000 to 2002, anchoring the establishment its second “three-peat”. The Lakers won two more titles in 2009 and 2010, yet neglected to recover their previous grandness in the next decade.

The Lakers hold the record for NBA’s longest winning streak, 33 straight diversions, set amid the 1971– 72 season. 21 Hall of Famers have played for Los Angeles, while four have trained the group. Four Lakers—Abdul-Jabbar, Johnson, O’Neal, and Bryant—have won the NBA MVP Award for an aggregate of eight honors.


Boston Celtics

Lakers competition

The competition between the Boston Celtics and the Lakers includes the two most storied basketball franchises in National Basketball Association (NBA) history. It has been known as the best competition in the NBA. The two groups have met a record 12 times in the NBA Finals, beginning with their first Finals meeting in 1959. They would proceed to overwhelm the class in the 1960s and the 1980s, confronting each other six times in the 1960s and three times in the 1980s.


The competition had been less extraordinary since the retirements of Magic Johnson and Larry Bird in the mid 1990s, yet in 2008 it was recharged as the Celtics and Lakers met in the Finals out of the blue since 1987, with the Celtics winning the arrangement 4– 2. They went head to head by and by in the 2010 NBA Finals, which the Lakers won in 7 recreations.

The two groups have won the two most noteworthy quantities of titles, the Celtics 17, the Lakers 16; together, the 33 titles represent half of the 67 championships in NBA history.

Detroit Pistons

Primary article: Lakers– Pistons competition

The competition between the Lakers and the Detroit Pistons created in the late 1980s. The two groups confronted each other in consecutive finals appearances in the 1988 NBA Finals, which the Lakers won in 7 amusements and the 1989 NBA Finals, which the Pistons won in 4 recreations.

The competition reemerged in the mid 2000s as the two groups squared off against each other in the 2004 NBA Finals, which the Pistons won in five amusements.

Los Angeles Clippers

Scissors contention

The contention between the Lakers and the Los Angeles Clippers is one of a kind since they are the main two NBA groups to share a field, the Staples Center. It is likewise one of just two intra-city competitions in the NBA, the other being the new crosstown contention between the New York Knicks and Brooklyn Nets.

Los Angeles fans have verifiably supported the Lakers Some fight that the term rivalry is mistaken until the point when the Clippers turn out to be more fruitful.

San Antonio Spurs

Lakers– Spurs contention

The San Antonio Spurs and the Lakers, created what some would group as a contention in the late 1990s and mid 2000s. Since 1999, the groups have met in the NBA Playoffs five times, with the clubs joining to show up in seven consecutive NBA Finals (1999– 2005). Moreover, the groups joined to win five NBA titles from 1999 to 2003. The Spurs won the NBA title in 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014 while the Lakers won the title in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009 and 2010. From 1999 to 2004 the clubs’ contention was regularly viewed as the chief competition in the NBA,[262] and each time the clubs confronted each other in the playoffs the victor progressed to the NBA Finals. In 2008 the groups met again in the Western Conference Finals where the Spurs were conveniently vanquished just to beat LA when they met again in 2013 (however against a Lakers group without a harmed Kobe Bryant).